Love Joss Whedon

I am no stranger to Joss Whedon’s work. As a teen, I continually watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and even Dollhouse. But now in my twenties, I still can’t get enough of Joss Whedon-esque creations with the likes of Cabin In The Woods, his adaptation of Much Ado About Nothing and Avengers Assemble. As a result, but to no surprise, Whedon has become one of my favourite directors (not to mention writer/creator/producer and everything else in between. In fact I think the only thing he hasn’t done is appear in a cameo role. Oh wait, wasn’t he also the demon in Angel that did the dance of joy in Pylea? Why yes he was! And if you look him up on IMDb, he has actually appeared in a number of cameos. Wow, he is a man of many talents!

What surprised me recently is that it turns out Joss Whedon wrote the screenplay for Disney Pixar’s Toy Story, which I will be honest, I only found out a couple of years ago. Toy Story was one of my favourite films as a child so I found it very interesting to see that I have been a fan of Whedon before I even realised.

In addition, I have been following the work of many actors that Whedon has worked with on more than one occasion, although it wasn’t always intentional. For example, Alexis Denisof appeared as Wesley Wyndam-Pryce in Buffy the Vampire Slayer and then reprised his role in Angel. He was also cast in Dollhouse, had a leading role in Much Ado About Nothing and appeared in a cameo role for Avengers Assemble. And that is just one actor from the Whedonverse!

I have to admit, Joss is also quite a wordsmith. I have already mentioned his works, but we mustn’t forget the man himself. His one-liners are brilliant and some are even worth living by.

“Whatever makes you weird is probably your greatest asset.”

He is such an inspiration. As a feminist, he often works to build strong female characters in his works that can inspire female audiences. We may not be fighting literal demons on a nightly basis but we do battle our inner demons and Joss Whedon is one of those people who show us that we may have our flaws, but we are still here. We make a difference. If I had half of the talent he possesses, I would be one lucky woman.

I have been watching Whedon’s creations for so long now, I can only assume that I will continue to enjoy his works in the future.

Do you have a favourite director or writer? Do you follow anyone’s particular works as I have? Or are you not much into films and TV that you don’t have a particular go-to when it comes to particular directors, writers or actors? Share your story by tweeting #myfilmverse or adding a comment below.

Leave a Reply

